Fred Flintstone Is Better Than Michelle Wie From The Water Hazard


Posted by Dexter Francois | Posted in , | Posted on Monday, March 29, 2010

There was a bit of controversy between Michelle Wie and the rules officials during the final round of the Kia Classic at La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, California. Wie was forced to take a two shot penalty because she grounded her club in the hazard area after hitting her shot. Wie did not agree but in the end the ruling was final.

This is how the ruling reads.

Rule 13-4 of the Rules of Golf:

Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions
Except as provided in the Rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:

a. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;

b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or

c. Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard.

It is important to know the rules of golf especially if you plan to play in any tournaments. Honesty and integrity are a big part of golf and knowing the rules ensures that you will live up to these standards.

So what does Fred Flintstone have to do with all of this? In the following episode of The Flintstones, The Golf Champion, Fred is playing in the lodge golf tournament and finds himself in a water hazard. He finds a way to get it up and down for par to win the tournament(with a little help from a big friend). I don't think I would have the nerve to pull off that shot. And what would be the ruling on this one?

Have a good one and always hit your target.

Claim Your Free Weekly Golf Swing Videos Here!

Comments (0)